Friday, January 30, 2009

Hair clips





Ever since Maddie decided (on her own- I would have probably wanted her to have bangs forever!) to grow out her bangs way back in September, she has been obsessive about having her bangs out of her eyes and away from her forehead. She is so funny about it. She insists on having barettes ("clips") or headbands or crowns or something to hold them back so that they stay out of her way. 

And, so she is constantly coming to me to "please fix my clip, Momma" so that she can "stay beautiful." The other day in the car when we were on our way to the bookstore, Maddie was cracking up Dan and I. She continuously was asking me every 2 minutes, "Momma, does my clip look OK?" "Momma, but do I still look beautiful?" Dan laughed and told her that she is always beautiful, and she smiled. She's so funny about it. She even hates for those little nagging wispy hairs that don't like to stay put in a barette to get in her way!

The girl and her crowns too. She wears her crowns even out to snow tube! It always makes people laugh. 

We've been showing them little clips on youtube lately of the Disney parade and of meeting certain characters, etc and she just melted our hearts the other day when she saw a little girl meeting and hugging her idol, Aurora. She told us quietly, "wow... if I meet Aurora, I will tell her, I love you. You are my hero." It was absolutely precious. I will most certainly cry if she is able to hug her beloved Aurora.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Princess Crannie

Maddie reading her "Aladdin" story and singing "A Whole New World"

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Snow tubing princess

out in the snow we got-- mid January

Sunday, January 11, 2009

Birthday girl= Eagles win!







It seems surreal to me that my little Crannie is now four years old. I have a 4-year old and a 2-year old. They're still supposed to be babies!

Maddie loves hearing about when she was born and when she was a baby, so I'd been telling her since yesterday that 4 years ago yesterday we were sitting in the hospital room and Dan was playing UNO. Ha. We were awaiting the induction process. And, I kept telling her all throughout today "4 years ago at this time.." up until 5:56pm (4:56pm Shreveport time) when I told her she'd been born 4 years ago. She loves hearing about it, and how she used to be so small. 

We've never "over" done their birthdays in the way of parties or anything like that, but we've always insisted and made it a point that both Cran and her little Beebster know how important their birthdays are to us. She had her early birthday weekend last weekend, and we let her choose what she wanted to do today. She helped me make cupcakes yesterday that she had picked out of her new cookbook. They turned out great and they called for Jell-o in the mix. Maddie remembered that the little oven that Nene had gotten them for Christmas came with its own mixer. She was in absolute heaven mixing the batter all by herself. It was too cute. She was insistent that she'd get all of the egg yolks mixed in by herself. She and Beebster then decorated them with sprinkles and a few decorative Disney figures. 

Her birthday present from us and from her Beebster was the book, "Pinkalicious." The girl LOVES that book. The other day we had been at the book store, and they only had copies of "Purplacious." She was quite devastated. She is now telling me that they should make a book called "Sparklacious" which I actually think would be a good idea. We then went to Chuck E Cheese. I personally hate that place, but they just love it. It has fast become a tradition on their birthdays! We decided to just pay for tokens this time, and they had a wonderful time as usual. 

It snowed yesterday- not much, but enough to be able to get the snow tube out again. They were out for an hour snow tubing yesterday until it got dark. That was Maddie's other request to do today on her birthday. So, once the Eagles were up 23-11 in the 4th quarter and we felt confident, we got them outside to snow tube again. I went down with them a bunch of times and they were just laughing hysterically when we'd (softly) crash into the bush. They just love that darn snow tube!

Miss Maddie requested her very favorite, spaghetti, for dinner tonight. She's always so specific too: "I would like spaghetti deeders (what she calls it for some reason), fruit salad, and garlic toast." Ironically, spaghetti was also Faith's birthday dinner. These girls and their spaghetti. She had her bubble bath that she wanted with her Beebster, and they played princess dolls for awhile, and then it was time for bed. A very nice 4th birthday.

It feels more surreal to me that Maddie is four in just knowing that little Alexa only lived 2 months past her 4th birthday. Despite never having met her or her family, she has left an enormous impact on my life. And, I'm so glad for that. I've never taken anything for granted with my little girls, but every moment seems that much more precious in just knowing how things could very well change at the drop of a hat. I can't imagine only 2 more months with our Cran. She is my helper, my confidante, my buddy, my student, and my everything. She is my old soul: so mature in ways that I can't understand considering she's only just turned four, and yet so innocent at the same time. She is so much fun and her personality never ceases to amaze me. She's developed a lot of new things that she loves this year: a fascination for wildlife, her love of all things pink and fancy, her absolute love for her beloved princess Aurora, music and dance, an even bigger fascination with cooking and baking than last year, and so much more. And yet, she has all the same loves she has always had. She loves her family, just like her Beebster. I'm quite the lucky Momma!

My big girl turns 4!

Making birthday cupcakes

Maddie loves her little mixer that Nene got her!

Monday, January 5, 2009

"Lock up the Crannies"


Cran's been getting an enormous kick lately out of something that Flora says in "Sleeping Beauty." She and Faith watched that last night for movie night, and I guess she just now noticed what Flora says when the fairies are securing the cottage before getting out their wands to fix the cake and the dress for Aurora.

"Make sure you lock up all the crannies!"

Clearly meaning to secure all the crevices, etc, but Maddie thinks she has been referred to in her most favorite movie of all time! It's so funny. She has been doing the impression of Flora saying this, and then laughing hysterically. She wants me to rewind it about 8 times and just laughs and laughs that they mentioned her. I told her that a "cranny" is a crack or little opening, but she thinks they are trying to keep her out of the cottage. Haha.

*****

Cran made me laugh as usual today while the girls and I played "Don't Break the Ice." Faith loves to bang on the ice at the end which, inevitably, always leads to her losing the game and sinking the polar bear. Maddie got this serious look on her face, and picked up the polar bear and "put him to sleep" on some blocks of ice that she put in a line. She told me very seriously, "Momma, this game makes sense. Remember what we saw about the polar bears losing their pack ice? They can't live like that. Poor, poor polar bears." Apparently she made the connection between the game and real life, and it was so cute.