Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Robert the 'robber'

Crannie said something so clever the other day that I thought was too funny.

She is still crazy obsessed with Edward and Giselle of the movie 'Enchanted.' They are her imaginary friends that visit with us every day. Edward always seems to be in need of 9-1-1 care and it is quite funny. She still doesn't like Patrick Dempsey's character 'Robert' and the other day she told us "Robert is a 'robber' because he robs Giselle from Edward." I thought that was too funny!

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Diary of a Cran



Who would have ever guessed that a diary of Tia Rosa's that Nene found in our old closet the other day would be of such entertainment value to both Maddie and Faith?! It's funny when I sit down and think of my own daughters now writing in Steph's old diary from when she was in about 4th grade (therefore, this was about 16 years ago)!

Girlies always love when Nene goes rooting through old closets or the garage back home and gives them all the "goodies." They got all sorts of Mexican necklaces that were ours from way back when, some cool purses that they love, and this old Snoopy diary that I remember very vividly that Steph kept back in the day. It is HILARIOUS to read all about her loves from when she was not even 10 years old. Maddie and Faith got such a kick out of this, especially Maddie. They both wanted to write in it, and Maddie wrote page after page about Edward (oh yes, she just adores him.. her prince from 'Enchanted). The little stinker even wrote his name (perfectly spelled too) without me even knowing that she could spell the name 'Edward.' Of course, the rest of the stuff that she wrote was just random letters that didn't spell much of anything, but to her it told a story. She's so funny. She then went on to hide her diary behind one of Abrie's toys downstairs and whispered to me that it was a secret and "don't tell Daddy, I don't want him to know because he might get hurt feelings that I love Edward." Hahaha.


I love my Cran.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

'Cran goes to school'

In the spirit of the Berenstain Bears, we called today "Cran goes to School."

We went this afternoon to meet with the kindergarten principal at the primary center that Maddie would attend if we decide to go the public school route for next year. IF. It's all a big 'if' right now, but we're leaning towards giving it a try and seeing how it goes. Maddie is not wanting to go to school even in the slightest. She says she has her best friends here at home and learns everything she needs to here, and she doesn't want to be away from us.

Her school houses only kindergarten and 1st grade. The student to teacher ratio is quite low compared to other schools-- they told us it was higher this year, but it's typically 16:1. I liked that. Maddie's two questions that she asked and was (very) concerned about were 1) Where are the bathrooms and 2) Where do I eat my lunch? Haha. My little Cran! The principal was exceedingly nice and very understanding of this being our first ever experience with having any of our three girls away from us for an extended period of time, and she thought it was great that we wanted to see the school and get acquainted with it already. Registration will be in March, and then Maddie will go through an academic 'evaluation' in the summer.

This was a big step for us to see what it would all be like for next year. Maddie was extremely impressed with all the arts and crafts that they get to do, and she liked seeing all the kids' names on the cubbies. She said it was just like she has read in books about school. Dan and I did like the school and the faculty a lot. They seemed to know all of the 140 students that go to this school, and all seemed genuinely caring and interested in the kids' best interests and education.

So, we will see!