Friday, August 22, 2008

Social 3-year old



Maddie doesn't cease to amaze me in so many aspects of her personality.

She went from being a painfully shy 2 - 2 1/2 year old a year ago, to completely coming out of her 'shell' and becoming our social little Cran. She lives for friendships. She thrives on conversation and wants to talk about everything and anything. She has an enormous desire to meet new people, and new friends. She loves anybody. She wants to say "hello" to every other child she ever meets. I think she wishes that every person she meets could be her best friend. 

Though she has met many snooty kids and many 'bullies,' she's also met a handful of wonderful friends recently that she truly appreciates. After playing with Kayla and Chloe at the pool on Saturday, Maddie has been asking non-stop when her friends can come play. I finally worked up the nerve to stop by at their apartment yesterday on our way to the pool and get their phone number from their mom and asked if today would work. Fortunately, it did. 

Kayla and Chloe came over today just for about 45 minutes in the afternoon. They are 10 years old and 6 years old, and yet incredibly sweet and nice to Maddie. They play with Maddie because they truly enjoy playing with Maddie, and not because they feel obligated to since she's so much younger than them. Actually, it's extremely funny to watch  Maddie with the older girls. She just loves them.

They played with all the 'Pets' for quite some time, and also set up the cottage in Maddie's room. They were very busy. Meanwhile, I sat in our bedroom just laughing under my breath at how cute Maddie is. When they first went in to Maddie's room, Maddie whipped out her harmonica and started belting out a tune. She goes, "that's my music that I like to play before we start playing. Ok, we can start playing guys!" She does NOT stop talking. She kept saying things like
"ohhhh... Chloe, your shirt is beautiful. Where did you get it?"
"ohhh.. Chloe, I like your eyes. They're beautiful."
"wow, Kaila. Your hair is so beautiful."
"do you guys like my shorts? Do you guys like my shirt? I wish it had Aurora on it (she was wearing her princesses shirt) because she is my favorite princess."
"isn't our home so nice? My momma likes it very clean for you guys." (haha).
"What do you guys call your Momma? I call my Momma, 'Momma.' I love her" (that one brought the biggest smile to my face as I sat there eavesdropping!)
"My Daddy is very silly" (when Dan was taunting Maddie about the 'Stinkus Brothers' (aka The Jonas Brothers))
"I have a pet guinea pig. He's name is Gordon. He likes to poop in his cage a lot. He's so silly."


Actually, Maddie also did something totally unlike herself when the girls had to leave. She cried very softly. She gets very embarrassed when she cries, especially in front of other people. But, she was very sad when they had to go. 

It's just so nice to have met some very nice friends that Maddie truly loves. Not only that, the friends she has met are all sweethearts just like my Cran. I hope that the day she does start school that she's able to meet nice friends just like she has met this summer. It makes all the difference now that I realize she's growing up (slowly.... SLOWLY!) and wanting to form her own friendships. I know she'll always be my best friend, and I'll always be hers but it will be that much more comforting to know one day when I play a lesser role in her life that she can make good friends.

No comments: