Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Our princess Cran





It is inevitable that we will have to buy this poor girl some real Disney Princess dresses at some point in the very near future. Probably Christmas and birthday gifts.

Maddie LOVES dressing up like a princess. If the dresses weren't so darn expensive, I am sure she would have every single Disney princess character that is on the market, and in every color and style available to the known world. She's funny though and makes do with what she has. Usually her "rest time" is when she asks to dress up in a certain dress from her closet. Today she told me she wanted her "wedding dress." I had no idea what she was talking about until she pointed to a cream colored dress that she hasn't worn in a long time. I heard her talking in her room a little bit later, and went to stand by her door to watch her (those can be the funniest times to watch her and Faith.. the times when they don't know anyone is watching). She was pretending to be Cinderella with some purple dress up shoes on her feet, and a bracelet and headband for her accessories. I kept hearing her say "Oh, sorry Prince. I don't really know you and I can't tell you my name. Oh gracious, it's midnight. I have to go!" She is too funny.

*******

Yesterday she missed her first dance class since she started a month ago. She has a cold, and we don't want anyone to catch it so thought it'd be best to wait until next week to go again. The owner of the dance studio told me that she can go in to a make-up class this week, so we might do that. We also got information for her big dance recital at the end of the dance year. They'll already be fitting them for their costumes in early November. I was beside myself with excitement. It brings me back to all the years that Lis, Steph, and I were at good ol' Carol's Academy dancing and performing in our shows. I have a feeling Maddie will be a riot, and everytime I tell her that Daddy, Beebster, and I will be watching her and waving to her from the audience she gets so excited! We used to always go to Denny's after our shows for breakfast as a late night "treat" (the shows used to end WAY past our bedtime when we were little, about 10:30pm or so) and loved that as our tradition. Dan thought that was a cool idea, and we're looking forward to doing something along those lines with Cran.

Anyway, we went to Weaver's for their Saturday Fall Fest since Maddie couldn't go to her dance class. Of course Maddie and Faith just love this place. They each picked out their pumpkins-- Maddie's is a medium sized one since she's the big sister, and Faith's is a little smaller since she's the little sister, haha-- and they used glitter paint today to decorate them. Poor Maddie though was having a blast in the straw jump, and had waited her turn FOREVER (literally forever since she's the type of kid that will stand there and watch if there's other kids doing the same thing since she thinks it's not polite to just go, and therefore will keep waiting and waiting even though it would have been her turns years ago) to go down the straw slide. She finally went down, and thought it was the coolest thing. She posed for a picture and did a typical Maddie pose, and seconds later was nailed in the head by some boy with huge boots who flailed himself down the slide without waiting for Maddie to get up from the bottom. She sat there dazed for a little bit. It's no wonder she is constantly telling me of only a handful of boys that she likes, hahaha. But, other than that, she and Beebster had a great time! Now she's looking forward to everything else pumpkin and fall related before Halloween, and then figuring out a costume for her first trick-or-treat with a walking Beebster!

No comments: